The DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program (RRP) also more commonly referred to as DUI schools is regulated by The Department of Driver Services (DDS). This is an intervention program mandated by law for people convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI), possession of illegal drugs, underage possession of alcohol while operating a motor vehicle, or Boating Under the Influence (BUI).
The course is composed of two components. Schools must charge $100.00 for the Assessment Component, $235.00 for the Intervention Component and an additional $20.00 Materials Fee. The total cost of the course is $355.00. The Assessment Component takes most individuals 1/2-hour to one-hour to complete. The Intervention Component class is 20-hours long. The evaluation process designated by the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health & Developmental Disabilities, which is used to diagnose an individual’s substance abuse and/or dependence and, if indicated, refer the individual to appropriate treatment.. See www.mop.uga.edu for more information.
Who has to have a clinical evaluation for license reinstatement?
Effective July 1, 2008, clinical evaluation and possible treatment is required for anyone with two (2) or more DUI convictions in ten (10) years. Refer to www.mop.uga.edu for more information. Note: A court may order clinical evaluation with a first DUI, but court ordered evaluation for a first DUI has no impact on licensing. Click on FAQ Below for more information.
Frequently Asked Questions About: DUI (Click on question to get answer)
No. Certificates of completion from online DUI, Alcohol, or Drug Use Risk Reduction courses are not accepted by the DDS for any purposes related to an individual’s driver’s license or driving privileges.
DUI, Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction is an intervention program mandated by law for people convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI), possession of illegal drugs, underage possession of alcohol while operating a motor vehicle, or Boating Under the Influence (BUI). It consists of two components: an assessment component and an intervention component. Both components must be successfully completed in order to obtain a certificate of completion.
Currently, the only Assessment Component approved by the DDS for use in the State of Georgia is the NEEDS, which is a copyrighted product of ADE, Inc.
Currently, the only Intervention Component approved by the DDS for use in the State of Georgia is Prime for Life, which is a copyrighted product of Prevention Research Institute, Inc.
A complete list of all DUI, Alcohol, or Drug Use Risk Reduction schools certified by the DDS can be found at the DDS Website.
The cost of a DUI, Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction course is set by law. The total cost of the course is $355.00. This includes the Assessment Component ($100.00), the Intervention Component ($235.00), and a workbook ($20.00).
Georgia’s risk reduction course is comprised of two components: the Assessment Component and the Intervention Component.
The Assessment Component is completed first. It is a 130-question comprehensive adult assessment instrument used to screen the extent of an individual’s alcohol and drug use and its impact on driving.
The Intervention Component is completed last. It is a 20-hour course comprised of several sessions covering several days and delivered in a group environment. The Intervention Component is designed to offer therapeutic education and peer group counseling about alcohol and drug use and its effect on driving.
Students must complete both the Assessment and Intervention Components to receive a certificate of completion.
The time it takes to complete a course depends on a variety of factors; but, in most cases, the entire course can be completed in less than a week. It is best to discuss course schedules and any specific needs or concerns you may have related thereto with the school you choose to attend.
NEEDS is the 130-question comprehensive screening instrument used during the Assessment Component.
All schools have strict attendance policies, which are outlined in the paperwork you sign when you contract with a school to attend one of its courses. You will be expected to arrive on time and to complete each session. Students that arrive late to any session can expect to be denied entry into class and may be required to start the course over again, at full cost.
In addition, students that are absent or leave early from any session may be required to start the course over again, at full cost. It is recommended that you consider the course schedule carefully and take into account any potential scheduling conflicts you may have before signing a contract to attend.
The decision to issue a refund or make alternate arrangements to make up a missed portion of the course is a matter between the student and the school he or she contracts with to take the course. All schools have strict attendance policies, which are outlined in the paperwork a student receives when he or she contracts with a school to attend one of its courses.
Laws and regulations related to clinical evaluations and substance abuse treatment providers are administered by the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities (DBHDD). Detailed FAQs related to clinical evaluations and substance abuse treatment providers can be found at www.mop.uga.edu.
Documented proof of having completed a state-approved clinical evaluation is required of all persons that wish to reinstate a suspension of their Georgia driver’s license or driving privileges resulting from two or more convictions of driving under the influence within the past ten (10) years.
Laws and regulations related to clinical evaluations and substance abuse treatment providers are administered by the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities (DBHDD). See www.mop.uga.edu for more information.
Yes. Provided the out-of-state course substantially conforms to the course standards in Georgia. In determining if an out-of-state course substantially conforms to the course standards in Georgia, the DDS considers whether the course is approved by the state in which it is offered, if it would satisfy the reinstatement requirements of the driver’s licensing authority in that state, and if the course is taken in a group setting.
It is recommended that if there is any question as to whether a particular out-of-state program will be accepted by the DDS, the customer contact the DDS Customer Contact Center at (678) 413-8400 or (866) 754-3687 prior to enrollment.
Replacement certificates can be obtained from the school where you completed the DUI, Alcohol, or Drug Use Risk Reduction course for a fee of up to $20.00.
If the school has closed, you will need to contact the DDS at 678-413-8745 to obtain a replacement certificate. When requesting a replacement certificate from the DDS, please be prepared to furnish the name of the school you attended and the dates of the course.
Please note that DDS rules and regulations only require schools to maintain student records for a period of five (5) years.
DDS rules and regulations require programs to have a minimum of 5 paid contracts for students planning to attend a scheduled course. The Intervention Component requires a great deal of group interaction, which, according to the Prevention Research Institute, is difficult to achieve if fewer than 5 students are present. However, be mindful that there are occasions when students may fail to appear for a scheduled course, the rules do give programs the discretion to cancel, reschedule, or proceed with a course if fewer than 5 students are present.
Yes. The DDS rules and regulations allow students to transfer their assessment results between schools, but only in limited circumstances:
(a) A class for which a student has a signed intervention contract has been canceled; or,
(b) The student has moved at least thirty (30) miles away from the school that she or she contracted with to attend. The fee for transferring results of an Assessment Component due to student relocation shall be no more than $25.00; or,
(c) There is an emergency and prior approval by the Department has been obtained.
To start the process, you will need to obtain verbal approval from the DDS. Approval can be obtained by contacting the DDS at 678-413-8745 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, excluding state holidays.
Once approval has been granted by the DDS, you will be required to complete the Authorization for the Transfer and/or Release of Assessment Results form.
Please be prepared to provide the name and location of the school where you wish to transfer the assessment results.
All complaints related to a school or instructor must be made using the official DDS Complaint Form. The official DDS Complaint Form can be found here.
If you have questions about our DUI-Reduction Program, you may call us at 404-554-8888.